linked_in instagram
   
Fish Consulting Blog, background image

Sam’s September Reads

Another month has gone by, which means it’s time for another installment of my recap of the books I read last month. We’re busier than ever at Fish, which is making the year feel like it’s flying by. Luckily, my downtime every weekend still gives me plenty of opportunity to stay true to my resolution for this year to read 5 books each month. Here’s what I liked and didn’t like of my September reads.

The Good

  • The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V.E. Schwab: The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is the kind of book you encounter only once in a lifetime. . . . A defiant, joyous rebellion against time, fate, and even death itself―and a powerful reminder that the only magic great enough to conquer all of it is love.
  • The Ladies of the Secret Cirus by Constance Sayers: Spanning Jazz Age Paris to modern-day American, The Ladies of the Secret Circus is a decadent and magical tale of family secrets and lost love set against the backdrop of an extraordinary circus from the author of A Witch in Time.
  • The Clockmakers Wife by Daisy Wood: A powerful and unforgettable tale of fierce love, impossible choices and a moment that changes the world forever, perfect for fans of Jennifer Chiaverini and Hazel Gaynor.

The Just OK

  • White Ivy by Susie Yang: This definitely kept me intrigued, but the characters were deeply unlikeable and the ending was ridiculous (and not in a good way).

The Bad