linked_in instagram
   
Fish Consulting Blog, background image

The Joaquin Phoenix effect – what does this mean for award show season?

As the demand for plant-based options is increasing within the restaurant industry (and also becoming more mainstream all around) it’s no surprise to see this trend carry over to the glitz and glamour of Hollywood. With January kicking off the entertainment industry’s award show season, stories of vegan menus taking center stage were flooding my newsfeed recently.

VegNews shared details about how the Golden Globes became the first awards ceremony of its kind to serve a fully plant-based menu and the Critics’ Choice Awards followed suit, serving a plant-based menu during its 25th annual ceremony on January 12.

Vegan actor Joaquin Phoenix — who is believed to be behind the push toward a plant-based menu at awards ceremonies — won awards at both shows for his role as Arthur Fleck in Joker and praised the organizations for making a connection between climate change and animal agriculture.

If you’re like me (while I’m not vegan, I do find this trend very interesting) I’ll be eagerly waiting to see how many other award shows will go plant-based this year! Be sure to tune in to find out and here’s a handy calendar from Entertainment Weekly:

JANUARY

Tuesday, Jan. 7: Oscar nominations voting closes
Tuesday, Jan. 7: Producers Guild of America Awards nominations announced
Tuesday, Jan. 7: Directors Guild of America Award nominations announced
Tuesday, Jan. 7: New York Film Critics Circle Awards Gala
Sunday, Jan. 12: Critics Choice Awards ceremony
Monday, Jan. 13: Oscar nominations announced
Friday, Jan. 17: American Cinema Editors Eddie Awards ceremony
Saturday, Jan. 18: Producers Guild of America Awards ceremony
Sunday, Jan. 19: Screen Actors Guild Awards ceremony
Saturday, Jan. 25: Directors Guild of America Awards ceremony
Saturday, Jan. 25: American Society of Cinematographers Awards ceremony
Sunday, Jan. 26: Grammy Awards ceremony
Monday, Jan. 27: Oscar nominees luncheon
Tuesday, Jan. 28: Costume Designers Guild Awards ceremony
Thursday, Jan. 30: Final Oscar voting opens

FEBRUARY

Saturday, Feb. 1: Art Directors Guild Awards ceremony
Saturday, Feb. 1: Writers Guild of America Awards ceremony
Sunday, Feb. 2: British Academy of Film & Television Arts Awards ceremony
Tuesday, Feb. 4: Final Oscar voting closes
Saturday, Feb. 8: Film Independent Spirit Awards ceremony
Sunday, Feb. 9: Oscars ceremony